Main Image Header
Board of Commissioners
Honorabe Samuel F. Hart, Sr.

Bibb County government operates under a committee form of government. The Board of Commissioners consists of four commissioners elected by the citizens residing within the district they represent. The Chairman is elected countywide and is the Chief Executive Officer of the County. The Board Chairman is an ex-officio member of all committees.
Meet your Chairman, the Honorable Samuel F. Hart, Sr..

Honorabe Lonzy Edwards

The District 1 commissioner is Lonzy Edwards. Commissioner Edwards is the Chairman of the Finance Committee and the Risk Management, Public Safety and Animal Welfare Committees.
Meet the Honorable Lonzy Edwards.

Honorable Bert Bivins, III

The District 2 Commissioner is Bert Bivins, III. Commissioner Bivins is the Chairman of the Ordinances & Resolutions Committee and the Properties Committee. He is also the County’s Representative on the Macon Water Authority, Macon-Bibb County Land Bank Authority, and Macon-Bibb County Board of Health.
Meet the Honorable Bert Bivins, III.

Honorable Gary Bechtel

The District 3 Commissioner is Gary Bechtel. Commissioner Bechtel is the Chairman of the Human Resources Committee, Information Technology Committee, and License & Tax Committee.
Meet the Honorable Gary Bechtel.  Cell Phone: (478) 955-5506.

Honorabe Joe Allen

The District 4 Commissioner is Joe Allen. Commissioner Allen is Chairman of the Engineering Committee, Inspection & Fees Committee, Tobesofkee Committee and Recreation Committee.
Meet the Honorable Joe O. Allen.

The Clerk of the Bibb County Board of Commissioners is Shelia Thurmond. The Clerk serves as the custodian of the official records and documents of the governing body of Bibb County.  She also prepares, maintains and attest to official records and actions taken by the Board of Commissioners.  Meet the Clerk of the Bibb County Board of Commissioners, Mrs. Shelia Thurmond.
The County Attorney is Virgil Adams. The County Attorney advises the members of the Board of Commissioners on legality of actions. He prepares final form of legal documents including resolutions, contracts, leases and all legal actions. The County Attorney serves as parliamentarian for Commission meetings and represents the County in civil litigation
Steve H. Layson is the Chief Administrative Officer of Bibb County government. As CAO, Steve supervises the day-to-day operations of Bibb County government. He advises the Board of Commissioners on matters relating to the operations of finance and purchasing, human resources, buildings and properties, engineering and public works, and information technology.

Bibb County     Site Map
601 Mulberry Street Macon, GA 31201     Phone Number : (478) 621 - 6400
You are visitor 185801 since 4/27/2004